Equity and Inclusion Journal Club (EIJC)

The Equity and Inclusion Journal Club (EIJC) is hosted by MiPA, but open to everyone. EIJC attendees agree to abide by the MiPA Code of Conduct.

EIJC takes place about once a month, typically on Mondays at 3:30pm Eastern time.

Date/Time Location Speaker Title
Current Schedule - Spring 2022
Mon, Feb 21, 3:30pm Zoom Conor Larison (Rutgers) Disability in Physics and Astronomy [Slides]
Mon, Mar 28, 3:30pm Zoom Liam McDermott (Rutgers) The Privilege Degrees of Separation Gives Us: 'The Priesthood', The 'Black Tax', and Formulating Fixes for Fixed Physics Friction [ref] [slides] [additional resources: 1, 2, 3]
Mon, April 25, 3:30pm Zoom Charlotte Olsen (Rutgers) Burnout or Breakthrough? Exploring the Psychological Cost of Academia on Grad Students [refs: 1, 2, 3]
Mon, May 23, 3:30pm Zoom Kaitlin Rasmussen (University of Washington) Handling Imposter Syndrome as a Marginalized Researcher
Mon, June 27, 3:30pm Zoom Avery Kiihne (Rutgers) The State of LGBTQ Physicists and the James Webb Space Telescope [Slides]
Mon, July 18, 3:30pm Zoom Dilys Ruan (Rutgers) Fisher v. UT and Racial Equality in Physics [slides] [refs: 1, 2, 3, 4]
Mon, August 29, 3:30pm Zoom Megan Tillman (Rutgers) TBD

Past Schedule
Fall 2021
Thu, Sep 9, 1:30pm Zoom Avery Kiihne (Rutgers) Gatekeeping in STEM and Academia [refs: 1, 2, 3, 4]
Thu, Oct 14, 1:30pm Zoom Alyson Brooks (Rutgers) Inclusive Name Change Policies for Research Journals [ref]
Thu, Nov 11, 1:30pm Zoom Sabrina Appel (Rutgers) Assessing the Impact of the GRE [ref]
Thu, Dec 9, 1:30pm Zoom Yao-Yuan Mao (Rutgers) Why Freedom of Speech is Not an Excuse for a Hostile Environment [ref]
Spring 2021
Thu, Feb 4, 1:30pm Zoom Grace Telford (Rutgers) "Tools for Change: Boosting the Retention of Women in the STEM Pipeline" [ref]
Thu, Mar 4, 1:30pm Zoom Andrew Baker (Rutgers) "The Mentor's Dilemma: Providing Critical Feedback Across the Racial Divide" [ref]
Thu, May 6, 1:30pm Zoom Premi Chandra (Rutgers) Allyship [ref]
Thu, June 3, 1:30pm Zoom Wayne Brown (Rutgers) "Where do we go from here" [ref]
Fall 2020
Thu, Sep 10, 1:30pm Zoom Sabrina Appel (Rutgers) First meeting: Code of Conduct, Purpose of EIJC [ref]
Thu, Oct 1, 1:30pm Zoom Charlotte Olsen (Rutgers) Nonbinary Fraction and Nonbinary Systems: Whitepapers on the Future of Gender Equity in Space Sciences [ref]
Thu, Oct 30, 1:30pm Zoom Yssa Camacho-Neves (Rutgers) Underrepresentation in STEM (Emphasis on Hispanics)