Physics 361 Syllabus


Syllabus:
The reading assignments in the table below are primarily from our textbook "Quantum Mechanics" by Bruce Cameron Reed (Jones and Bartlett Publishers, Copyright 2008), unless "E&R" is indicated then the reading material is from "Quantum Physics of Atoms, Molecules, Solids, Nuclei, and Particles" by R. Eisberg and R. Resnick (John Wiley and Sons, 2nd Edition), Chapters 8-10. You are encouraged to complete the reading assignment for each lecture before the lecture takes place.

Please note that the schedule below is a general outline and may change during the course of the semeter. This webpage will be updated to reflect any changes.

Slides from the lecture notes will be uploaded after each lecture is given.

WEEK DATES LECTURE TOPICS READING
1 Wed Sep 6 Introduction/Thermal Radiation  
1.1-1.2
2 Mon Sep 11
Wed Sep 13
Rutherford-Bohr Atom and deBroglie Matter-Waves
Schrodinger's Equation I
1.2-1.4
2.1-2.2
3 Mon Sep 18
Wed Sep 20
Schrodinger's Equation II
Potential Wells I
2.3-2.4
3.1-3.2
4 Mon Sep 25
Wed Sep 27
Potential Wells II
Potential Barriers and Scattering
3.3-3.6
3.7-3.10
5 Mon Oct 2
Wed Oct 4
Operators and Expectation Values
The Uncertainty Principle
4.1-4.2
4.3-4.9
6 Mon Oct 9
Wed Oct 11
The Harmonic Oscillator I
The Harmonic Oscillator II
5.1-5.3
5.4-5.6
7 Mon Oct 16
Wed Oct 18
Schrodinger's Equation in 3D
Angular Momentum Operators
6.1-6.3
6.4-6.5
8 Mon Oct 23
Wed Oct 25


Review for Midterm Exam
Midterm Exam (**Chapters 1-5**)
During regular class time
in room SEC 111 (note change in room!)
---
---


9 Mon Oct 30
Wed Nov 1
Infinite and Finite Spherical Well
The Coulomb Potential
7.1-7.3
7.4
10 Mon Nov 6
Wed Nov 8
Hydrogen Atom Probability Distributions
Angular Momentum Raising and Lowering Operators
7.5-7.7
8.1
11 Mon Nov 13
Wed Nov 15
Quantized Angular Momentum and Spin
Hydrogen Fine Structure/Zeeman Effect
8.2-8.3
E&R
12 Mon Nov 20
Wed Nov 22 (Friday Classes!)
Pauli Exclusion Principle
Happy Thanksgiving!
8.4
---
13 Mon Nov 27
Wed Nov 29
Multi-electron Atoms
Approximation Methods I
E&R
9.1
14 Mon Dec 4
Wed Dec 6
Approximation Methods II
Numerical Solution of Schrodinger's Equation
9.2-9.4
10.1-10.2
15 Mon Dec 11
Wed Dec 13
Interpretations of Quantum Mechanics/GRE problems
Review for Final Exam
---
---
-- Wed Dec 20 Final Exam
Wed. Dec 20th 8-11am room SEC 118
---